



2 SEPTEMBER 2024

COMPOSITION OF THE SCIENTIFIC BOARD
OF FRENCH AGENCY FOR FOOD, ENVIRONMENTAL AND OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH AND SAFETY
(ANSES)

MANDATE: JUNE 2023-JUNE 2026

The scientific board of the French Agency for Food, Environmental and Occupational Health and Safety (ANSES) includes:

- > two ex officio members:
- The chairman of the Scientific Board of the French National Agency for Medicines and Health Products Safety (ANSM - Agence nationale de sécurité du médicament et des produits de santé) or his representative,
- The chairman of the Scientific Board of the French national public health agency (SpF Santé publique France) or his representative.
- twenty-four scientists, appointed by decree of April 26th, 2023 signed by the Minister of the Economy, Finance and Industrial and Digital Sovereignty, the Minister of Labour, Full Employment and Economic inclusion, the Minister of Higher Education and Research, the Minister of Agriculture and Food Sovereignty, the Minister for the Ecological Transition and Territorial Cohesion and the Minister of Health and Prevention, on the proposal of the Director General:

Ms Francine Behar-Cohen, University Professor - Hospital Practitioner in ophthalmology, Assistance Publique-Hôpitaux de Paris (AP-HP) - Université Paris Cité (France)

Mr Per Bergman, retired (former Head of Risk and Benefit Assessment Department, National Food Agency – Livsmedelsverket)) (Sweden)

Mr Claude Bragard, Professor, President of Applied microbiology-Phytopathology Earth & Life Institute, Université Catholique de Louvain (Belgium)

Mr François-Xavier Devetter, Professor of economics, Université de Lille (France)

Mr Michael Eschbaumer, Laboratory Head, Institute of Diagnostic Virology, Friedrich-Loeffler-Institut (FLI) – Federal Research Institute for Animal Health (Germany)

Ms Ulricke Felt, Professor of Science and Technology Studies, University of Vienna (Austria)

Mr Emmanuel Flahaut, Research Director, CNRS (French National Centre for Scientific Research) (France)

Ms Marta Hugas, retired (former Chief Scientist, EFSA (European Food Safety Authority)) (Spain).

Mr Hein Imberechts, Scientific Support Advisor, Sciensano (Belgium)

Ms Pikka Jokelainen, Head of function, responsible for the Secretariat for Infectious Disease Preparedness and One Health at Statens Serum Institut (Denmark); Assistant Professor of Zoonotic Parasitology at the University of Helsinki.



Ms Francine Laden, Professor of Environmental Epidemiology, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health (USA)

Mr Fabrice Laurent, Research Director, Deputy Head of Department Animal Health, INRAE (French National Research Institute for Agriculture, Food, and Environment) (France)

Mr François Mariotti, Professor of human nutrition, AgroParisTech (France)

Mr Marco Martuzzi Director of the Environment and Health Department, ISS (Istituto Superiore di Sanità - National Health Institute) (Italy)

Ms Claire Neema, Professor of phytopathology, Institut Agro Montpellier (France)

Mr Karsten Nockler, Head of the Department for Biological Safety, Federal Institute for Risk Assessment (BfR) (Germany)

Mr Antoon Opperhuizen, Director of the Office of Risk Assessment and Research, Netherlands Food and Consumer Product Safety Authority (NVWA) (The Netherlands)

Ms Shobita Parthasarathy, Professor of Public Policy Analysis, University of Michigan (USA)

Mr Yves Roquelaure, University Professor - Hospital Practitioner (PU-PH) in occupational and environmental pathology, University Hospital (CHU) of Angers – University of Angers (France)

Mr Noël Tordo, Director of the Institut Pasteur de Guinée (France)

Mr Mathieu Valcke, Specialist scientific advisor, Institut national de santé publique du Québec (INSPQ) (Canada)

Mr Arjen Van De Giessen, Head of Head Centre for Zoonoses and Environmental Microbiology, Dutch National Institute for Public Health and the Environment (RIVM) (The Netherlands)

Mr Xavier Van Huffel, retired (former Director of the Staff Direction for Risk Assessment, Federal Agency for the Safety of the Food Chain) (Belgium)

Mr David Vernez, Head of Department of Occupational and Environmental Health, Unisanté Université de Lausanne - Center for Primary Care and Public Health (Switzerland)

three members of ANSES's scientific staff, elected by their peers on 12 January 2023:

Mr Thierry Guerin, Strategy and Programmes Directorate (DSP) - Research and Reference Division

Ms Cécile Michel-Caillet, Risk Assesment Department (DER), Unit of Chemicals Assessment

Ms Charlotte Valat, Lyon Laboratory, Epidemiology and Surveillance Support (EAS) Unit.

Ms Marta Hugas has been appointed Chair of the Scientific Board on 7 November 2023 by order of the responsible ministers, after receiving the opinion of the Scientific Board.

The Scientific Board elected Ms Francine Behar-Cohen, Mr Hein Imberechts, and Mr Antoon Opperhuizen as Vice-Chairs.